Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am moving to Illinois and bringing my 05 Viper from New Jersey. The car has after market Borla exhaust with the catalytic convertors removed. Since the check engine light is not on, I can take the car to a non-state station where I was able to get the inspection sticker.

Any way I can get this through in Illinois?

·
Registered
1,961 Posts
I never understand these questions. Inspections are easy in all states considering I was an inspector to get myself through school.

Go to a local lube shop where the guys make minimum wage, throw them 20$ to look the other way/hook you up, you seriously just made their day. LOL I hate these threads

Gawwwwwd

·
Registered
6,815 Posts
There are no inspections in IL unless you live in Chicago
There is emission testing in certain counties...you just need to check which counties require them. Most that surround Chicago (Crook county) do have emission testing.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I am moving to Illinois and bringing my 05 Viper from New Jersey. The car has after market Borla exhaust with the catalytic convertors removed. Since the check engine light is not on, I can take the car to a non-state station where I was able to get the inspection sticker.

Any way I can get this through in Illinois?
Here in NJ I can do that. Apparently not so easy in Illinois? You seem to think so but these other answers not so.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
There is emission testing in certain counties...you just need to check which counties require them. Most that surround Chicago (Crook county) do have emission testing.
I can't take it to a state inspection station. Are there garages like the first response says that I can have it done at?

·
Registered
242 Posts
In terms of emission stations, no they are specific locations set up by the county or state I believe.