Viper Alley banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,

I’m building a pro-touring ‘69 Barracuda with a coil over suspension, T56 magnum trans, and a 96RT v10 crate engine. I’m pretty familiar with small and big block mopars but, this is my first time digging into a v10. A Ram SRT10 is what inspired the build. I absolutely loved the characteristics of the 8.3. The low end torque is so much fun on the street. Feels like a big block stroker except reliable.

To the point, I have a 0 mile 96 Gen 1.5 v10. It’s been sitting for 24 years awaiting the right project. I’m going to be using the MS MS3pro evo ECU. Besides the power steering cap, what else would you all recommend I change/inspect prior to firing up this engine? Plan will be to run it N/A for 3-4 years before looking at boost.

Attachments

·
Registered
665 Posts
Cool project, there have been some p/s pulley failures. I think a company called Ipsco makes an aluminum replacement. If you are certain to add boost I would add injectors large enough to support the calculated output so that your n/a tune would be complete. The MS3 has an internal MAP sensor so it would be very easy to safely tune for boost pressure having a reliable n/a tune as a base. Enjoy this joining of Mopar Madness.

·
Landscaping Professional
13,804 Posts
The engine is basically an LA 360 with more stroke and 2 more cylinders added. Other than length, you should not have the sort of fitment problems that plagued the A-body, B-engine installs from the factory. The wet sleeve motors are also about 75# heavier than the Gen 2 engines.

The only significant flaw with the wet sleeve Gen 1 motor are the head gaskets. Having never been run, you shouldn't have any issues. The '96 cars were the first year that used the JTEC ECU which is OBD-2 compliant.

·
Banned
589 Posts