Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm a newbie so break me in easy. Does anyone have any tips for shifting the stock T56 for better 0-60, ET's etc.

2-3 is terrible under power in my GTS. It shifts fine when I'm not going for speed. I bought the car new and it has been shifted with care in my presence. Also it stays in 3rd gear so I don't think the shift forks are bent or anything.

Any help would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,499 Posts
Slam it back into first then to third. Don't worry, you'll bounce off of the rev limiter. Welcome and post pics. Even if it's stock I still like to see em.

·
Registered
7,340 Posts
It's really just a hard tranny to shift. I can powershift the living shit out of almost any car I've ever driven, but I still have a hard time with that 2-3 shift. Just practice going as quickly as you can.

·
Registered
4,011 Posts
JID said:
Get the MGW short throw shifter. best $70 you'll ever spend. www.mgwltd.com .

That'll fix your shifting issues.

JD
First do the above. Then use your thumb to feel when Sneaky Pete is warm to the touch - that means your transmission is warmed up (the engine warms up long befire the transmission). Once your transmission is warmed up it will shift much more smoothly and easily. Now you are ready to practice the 2-3 shift faster and faster on public roads that have a 45 MPH or higher speed limit at part throttle. Once you can do that, then it is time to turn on your Valentine One and use more throttle on whatever public street you have closed off to make it your own private closed course. When you've mastered that, grasshopper, go to test and tune night at the local dragstrip and practice, practice, practice.

·
STALKED
4,483 Posts
Consider the Woodhouse spring upgrade - it'll center the shifter for a more precise 2-3 shift.

·
Registered
458 Posts