Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The other day I was under my 98 doing the CAGS mod and noticed that the speedometer cable has a lot of corrosion inside the terminals. I had the car for about a year or so and this is the first time I have noticed this since it is my first time under the car. From what I have been told these types of connectors should never have moister inside of it since it has the O-ring inside. I am thinking that the previous owner somehow disconnected it so that the odometer would not roll over. Is there anyway I can be sure that he did this? Does the computer somehow track how many actual miles there should be on the car? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

·
Registered
533 Posts
What's the CAGS mod?

I'm told around 96 or 97, the computer will keep track of mileage. Need expert to verify. Taking to dealer and will be able to download. I'm sure the expert will know what tool they use and whether you need to go to dealer or not.

Is this corrosion at the speed sensor at the tranny?

·
Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The CAGS is for the skipshift, it disables the annoying 1-4 shifts

Yes, both the connector going into the tranny and the plug on the tranny itself has corrosion inside of it.

·
Registered
458 Posts
If the speedometer were disconnected, how would the ECM know the mileage? Yes, it could know it was disconnected, but for how many miles? Also, does disconnecting the speed trigger the MIL?

·
Registered
791 Posts
yes...the computer keeps track of the mileage...when you come to the dealership we can plug in our computer and verify the mileage shown on the odometer....Len

·
Registered
533 Posts
FE065, A 94 stores mileage? Really? I had a BIG arguement with someone about this and a few people who I thought were qualified told me a 95 didn't do this.

Hmmm. I'm pissed now.

·
Registered
1,396 Posts