Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to viper ownership (several mos with a '97 GTS whose only mods are tubes and filters, headers and cat-back). I have taken it to the local track (road course) two weekends now (DE) and love driving it but I know I can make it better for this purpose. I'm familiar with this track and know the proper lines, etc. (which is not to say that I'm very good at it). No problems catching and passing people on straights but would like to hold corners better (I had a ZO6 up my ass last weekend and it felt like a f*****g hemorrhoid...no offense intended, I owned one of them too). I was running on pilot sports, they were practically new. No doubt I will change the shifter to a B&M (missed a couple shifts) and plan to get the larger baffled pan and upgrade the fan and flywheel but my real question is what do I need to do to make the car hold the corners better (besides improve my driving skill)? Oh yeah, the brakes need an upgrade too. After my first track experience boiled the brake fluid several times, I switched to Motul and added porsche-like air baffles and wind deflectors and that problem resolved. There still needs to be more brake though (I've purchased brakeman 3 pads and plan to put them on but will probably need to change rotors and ?calipers? I guess. What do I need to do to the suspension? Does the wing/front diffuser help or just a poser mod really? I would like to lower the car but I still drive the car on the street. What should the next set of tires be (I read thread re:hoosiers); what about kumhos? I'm not opposed to two sets of wheels/tires, what should the track set be? Sorry for the long post. If you're still awake after reading this, any suggestions would be appreciated; this is the track forum, right?
Ray

·
Registered
757 Posts