Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

· Registered
1,831 Posts
Larry,
Lance here. Diminution of Value is very difficult to establish because, while it is a phenomenon, you can only realize (and therefore irrefutably establish) the loss when you trade in or sell your vehicle.
Here in Florida... there is fairly well established precedent that in the case of third party claims (ie.. your claim against the person who caused your damages) DV is to be paid. Diminution of Value is considered therefore to fully indemnify you.... in other words return you to your prior condition. For first party claims (your claim with your insurance company) most insurance policies now EXCLUDE diminution of value.
When I was a claims manager many moons ago, we paid Diminution of Value on third party claims... but denied them on first party claims.
My suggestion would be to push for a total loss of your truck. That way your insurance company will pay you the ACV, or market value, for your area.
Actually in Y2K3SRT's example above he was probably lucky that the other party had the same insurance as him.... otherwise he most likely would not have received the diminution of value check.
You see the first party side (you against your carrier) is dictated by contract. In Florida 99% of the carriers have changed the language of their policies (the contract) to EXCLUDE Diminution of Value. Therefore you can argue until you are blue in the face and monkeys fly out of your ass... you will not get Diminution of Value.