Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Since I am new to vipers I am learning as I go. Like most people I like lots of HP and Torque. What is the cost of changing to forged pistons on the 2000's and higher. Also if money is not a object I really like the new coupe for 06. I am thinking about 2002 GTS and changing out the pistons and adding the Heffner turbo package. I am torn between new and used. Any opinions would help.

·
Registered
3,471 Posts
If you like the old GTS and want ABS you're looking at 01 and 02,

if you want a specific color and are going to be tearing apart the engine for turbos anyway you have free reign over all years.

·
Registered
4,445 Posts
If you don't want to tear the motor apart then buy a 1999! The pistons are already forged. :nod:
================================================================================
2003 SRT-HEFFNER TWINTURBO "1040RWHP&1135RWTQ"
1999 DIABLO VT-HEFFNER TWIN SUPERCHARGED "620hp&740tq"
2005 MERCEDES CL65-HEFFNER MODIFIED&TUNED "650HP&830TQ"
2005 MURCIELAGO ROADSTER-HEFFNER SOON TO BE TWINTURBOED
2005 AUDI A8 (STOCK WITH THE EXCEPTION OF 20INCH HRE'S)
2003 HUMMER H2 HEFFNER WHIPPLECHARGED/6SPEED TRANSMISSION CONVERSION
2004 PORSCHE 996 TT CAB (SOLD)
2006 CLS 55
2005 T REX

·
Registered
1,289 Posts
Mr. Bill said:
Since I am new to vipers I am learning as I go. Like most people I like lots of HP and Torque. What is the cost of changing to forged pistons on the 2000's and higher. Also if money is not a object I really like the new coupe for 06. I am thinking about 2002 GTS and changing out the pistons and adding the Heffner turbo package. I am torn between new and used. Any opinions would help.
Unless you are use to driving 500-600hp cars, I would leave it alone until you have had a chance to really get to know the car.