Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I currently own a C5 Corvette, and have owned it for around a year. I have always wanted a Viper, and am finally deciding to get one...

ow hard are these cars to drive? I hear so many people saying that they are hard to drive, definitely are not for every day driving, and there really is no place to rest your foot from the clutch except under the clutch...

Mind you I am a fairly new driver (18 yrs old), however I have worked hard to afford my toys, and am very serious about the purchase of a Viper. It truly is my dream car but if this car is too much for me to handle I feel like I should just settle with an M3, NSX, or something of the like. I am keeping my vette so of course this car will only be driven on the weekends.

As far as my driving experience I have never been to a track, I do take my Vette to WOT, but have never gone over 100 MPH... I learned not to floor the Vette around a curve as you can lose control, and really my TC never turns on in the vette because I try my best to drive it safe and I know my limitations, however I am still worried that I cannot handle a Viper... It will be almost IMPOSSIBLE for me to get a test drive since I am 18 and even if I pull up to a dealership around me with my Vette the dealership may just think it's my dads and not look at me...

·
Banned
2,657 Posts
To get a ride in a viper do what I did. Get ahold of some VCA members in your area tell them your story. Many viper owner are happy to give out rides....it's a good excuse for us to drive our cars.

As far as dealers go. Fuck THEM! I had the same issue when I bought my viper. I too am very young (25). But I bought my viper off the net. I didn't get any of the bullshit you get when you walk into a showroom. The dealer was happy to get his 52,000 in cash. I was happy to own a 6kmi 01 viper acr.