Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, so I am new to this whole Viper thing and want to know about what kind of #s I can expect the car to put down stock, also what kind of mod path should I take to keep a reliable but powerful daily driver.

I see a few people running the NX twin nozzle kit spraying 150-250, I also heard that 97 was the last year of forged pistons and more aggressive cams, are the rods forged too?

What does forced induction cost to run on these? I really liked the blower whine on my cobra.

·
Registered
5,099 Posts
Stock is stock. Expect 11.7-12.0 stock.

S/C is a great way to go although you will get lots of TT advise as well. That is for you to decide. Being biased but also proven to, I would recommend calling Doug Levin (DLM) for your FI needs. Expect 9-10 second quarters depending on commitment.

99 is last year of forged pistons. You can expect similar 9-10 second times with BTR's nitrous packages.

Enjoy.

Chad

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Great, DLM told me that his kits sell for around 7k which incudes a additional fuel pump, injectors and all the other goodies that I would need.

That sounds like a great way to go for sure if I don't do spray.

·
Registered
3,471 Posts
Why go spray? Talk about a pain in the ass getting bottles refilled all the time.

Go for an S/C if you have to save for a bit. In the meantime toss some 3:54 gears in.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
What about other mods.

Throttle Body, are people even changing this?

Exhaust: I am def going to swap that out first, I want a real good sound and I like my cars loud. If you can hear me coming 3 miles away that would be great /images/graemlins/smiles

Nitrous: Dry? Wet? NX? NOS? TNT? I have only looked at the NX kit.

Drivetrain: How much can I put the stock rearend through? Tranny? Etc. What will break first?

·
Registered
5,099 Posts
Nitrous, talk to BTR Tom.