Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Viper Love
559 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok here its my un official project (didn’t decide yet)! Tell me what you think

im really considering going with Heffenr’s Twin Turbo /images/graemlins/toothy in few months

But i have few questions for the experts /images/graemlins/smiles

Can i build a high revving engine ? say like 7000RPM+ ? and would it be reliable ? and any HP gains? (I think there is) and is it worth it ?

Im aiming for 950RWHP on boost alone and i may consider NOS to achieve the 4 digits numbers ! or more boost is it possible !

As you can see im no expert so i need your help guys! Thanks in advance

PS. The yellow one /images/graemlins/laughing.gif

·
Registered
2,657 Posts
lol...don't you already have the 1000hp roe car?

Anyways, with a turbo, you don't need the engine to rev very high to create serious power. It will only cause exponentially more stress on the rotating masses of the engine.

The beauty of a turbo setup is that you can size your turbos to come on low in the power band and make a TON of power without winding the piss out of the engine, hence a very street friendly car. Therefore your engine lasts much longer with insane power. :thumb:

·
Schadenfreude Connoisseur
13,280 Posts
Rollmodel is correct here. The turbos used in heffner's kits have a pretty good A/R ratio. The boost response is exceptional as is the powerband. I am guessing that heffner may be able to build you some heads that broader power band allowing you utilize a higher shift point. Wiht the correct head work giving you the right valve springs, valve weight and material coupled with some solid lifters you probably can realize a higher redline relatively safely. But as Rollmodel said, I really dont see the need of that high a revving engine.

·
Registered
3,494 Posts
I thought with the long stroke these motors have limited the revs.....safely that is.