Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Going to Frank Hawley\'s drag racing school...

I've had just about enough of the NJ winter so I decided to head to Florida for a few days. While I'm there, I figured I could use a few passes. So I signed up at Frank Hawley's drag racing school. He supposedly runs an excellent program, has graduated champion drivers, and is the only school endorsed by NHRA. I'm hoping to get my NHRA comp license. I'm taking the Super Gas class driving 700 hp Firebirds. Funny that this car puts down 400 hp less than my Vette. :rofl:

Is there anything to do in Gainesville in the evenings? Anybody from the area?

·
Registered
5,099 Posts
Re: Going to Frank Hawley\'s drag racing school...

Great school. I got my license there and learned a lot. Hell, I was running 10.3's before I went and 8.7's once I graduated! Oh yeah, and I sent my car to Heffners. :rofl:

Seriously, it was very beneficial. You will be pleasantly surprised at how the cars sixty foot but after the 330 mark, they really lay down compared to a car like yours. Have fun!

·
Registered
5,099 Posts

BW, you won't want to do much the two nights before classes as you have to be out there EARLY and they really get you sweating in the cars waiting to run.

·
Registered
1,253 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

Yeah, I wasn't gonna hit it hard. I did notice you have to be at the track by 7:30. I'm going in February so it shouldn't be that hot.

Anything you didn't like about the program? What do you think was most beneficial to you? How many runs did you get between the two days?

·
Registered
5,099 Posts

6 runs if you pass each stage. 330, 660 and 1000 ft on the first day. 3 full passes on the second. Doesn't sound like much but it was very beneficial. Lots of phsychology about racing along with tips and tricks. Safety is hammered pretty good which I appreciated. Frank is quite the drill instructor.