Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Viper GTS
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys, this is my first post on here but I’ve been enjoying my viper since 2018. I did some research a while back and found that people had trouble fitting aftermarket seats in a gen 2 viper. I figured I’d finally contribute and share how I managed to squeeze in some purple Recaro Spj seats

Bought these seat brackets from Wedge brackets out of Utah. At first they didn’t fit but I took several measurements and drew them a diagram of what needed to change. A few weeks later I received some new brackets.
Due to the way the brackets fit in the car I needed to make some adjustments. (For anyone that wants to order brackets from Wedge they should just fit now that I’ve informed them what I had to do) The studs in the car were too short so my friend and I came up with a way to extend them. Used a threaded steel spacer to screw into the studded part of the car. Then we took the inch spacer that Wedge supplied and drilled a hole through the middle. Then I drilled a larger hole in the bottom so the threaded steel spacer would fit inside. This was done because the bracket needed to sit an inch higher in the back.

Automotive tire Grey Road surface Asphalt Household hardware

Gesture Automotive tire Thumb Automotive wheel system Asphalt

Road surface Asphalt Grey Rectangle Concrete

After we bolted the spacers in we attached the seats to the seat rails using 3/8” spacers between the seat and rail. Picture of hardware used:
Glasses Hand Automotive tire Guitar accessory Gas

Next up we put the seats in the car. Definitely be careful here because the brackets poke out and could scratch the paint or interior plastics. Best to use 2 people for this part.

Got the seats all bolted in and tested to make sure they slide back and forth. They fit absolutely perfect!! Here’s some install pictures:
Vehicle Car Motor vehicle Hood Automotive design