Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone feel like giving me a mind dump on things I "should look for".

I'm an expert on BMW's and not Vipers.. this is my first (won't be the last though /images/graemlins/smiles)

Specifically any major problem areas?

I'll be driving back from Lost Wages with the car.

Jim

·
Registered
21,933 Posts
good cars, stock shoks were known to rattle but it's harmless. Look at the obvious places for damage, make sure the frame rails are straight on the front and rear clips. Yellow'd brake caliper text means track use. Scrapes under the facia is normal. 99's had plastic water pump impellors, ask if that's been changed.

Other than that it's just like looking at any other car.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Craig201MPH said:
good cars, stock shoks were known to rattle but it's harmless. Look at the obvious places for damage, make sure the frame rails are straight on the front and rear clips. Yellow'd brake caliper text means track use. Scrapes under the facia is normal. 99's had plastic water pump impellors, ask if that's been changed.

Other than that it's just like looking at any other car.
Thanks,

Appreciate that much. Exactly what I needed.

Carfax shows clean. Owner is a known Viper freak and this was
"his wife's car".

Thanks again!

Jim

·
Out to lunch
5,863 Posts
It's a car. Craig covered the problem specific areas. As much as viper guys woulds like to believe their is something inherently technical and advanced about Viper, there isn't. It is a gorgeous body wrapped around a low tec big ass motor and stout chassis. A fine combination as far as I am concerned. I think the stigma of it being exotic causes people to question it, when in essence it would probably meet or exceed the life expectancy and reliability of any other "Regular" car.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
nohsreg2000 said: