Cam position sensor location? - Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper
 
Go Back   Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II
» Live Feed « · War Room · Graffiti Wall · Arcade · Viper Blogs ·  

Viper Discussions - Gen I & II Discussions of Viper-related subjects covering Gen-I and Gen-II models.

Cam position sensor location?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Cam position sensor location?
Old May 31st, 2009, 05:50 PM   #1
Enthusiast
 
mxracer266's Avatar
 
mxracer266 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Thief River Falls, MN
Posts: 89
mxracer266 is well liked with 190 pointsmxracer266 is well liked with 190 points
Rep Power: 0
Cam position sensor location?

Can anyone help me out? Had cam position sensor go out on me and I'm looking for a location on a '97 GTS. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Dustin
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old May 31st, 2009, 06:05 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
DVSGTS's Avatar
 
DVSGTS is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 195
DVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 points
Rep Power: 17
Its located in the timing chain cover in between the water pump and the harmonic balancer. Just off center to the right if looking at the engine from the front.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old May 31st, 2009, 06:08 PM   #3
Enthusiast
 
mxracer266's Avatar
 
mxracer266 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Thief River Falls, MN
Posts: 89
mxracer266 is well liked with 190 pointsmxracer266 is well liked with 190 points
Rep Power: 0
Great sounds fun to replace. Thanks for the help.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old May 31st, 2009, 06:18 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
plumcrazy's Avatar
 
plumcrazy is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ALL OVER
Posts: 22,721
plumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 pointsplumcrazy is not afraid of bears with 164584 points
Rep Power: 1126
what he said
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old May 31st, 2009, 06:31 PM   #5
Enthusiast
 
DVSGTS's Avatar
 
DVSGTS is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 195
DVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 points
Rep Power: 17
Shouldn't really be too bad. Do you have a manual though? The depth needs to be specific. If you've seen the front of the cam gear, you'll see there is a raised indexing piece. If you stick the sensor in too far that indexer will shear off the sensor. The manual spells is out pretty easy.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old May 31st, 2009, 08:04 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
99RT10&GTS's Avatar
 
99RT10&GTS is offline
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 18,678
99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 110021 points
Rep Power: 760
What year is your car? I bet I have a manual for ya...........................
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old June 4th, 2009, 09:27 PM   #7
Enthusiast
 
mxracer266's Avatar
 
mxracer266 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Thief River Falls, MN
Posts: 89
mxracer266 is well liked with 190 pointsmxracer266 is well liked with 190 points
Rep Power: 0
yeah if anyone could help me with setting the depth location that would be great.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old February 12th, 2010, 08:53 PM   #8
n00b
 
vipered is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
vipered is unremarkable with 10 points
Rep Power: 0
Sorry to revive this but I need the depth for cam sensor for a 1996 GTS. I didn't know you had to set it and busted a new one first crank. I do not have the manual to pull this from and to be honest this is the first car I have owned that would eat the sensor if installed improperly.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old February 13th, 2010, 05:13 PM   #9
Enthusiast
 
DVSGTS's Avatar
 
DVSGTS is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 195
DVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 points
Rep Power: 17
Well without going word for word from the manual, the quick and simple version is this: Measure the distance from the timing chain cover to cam gear through the sensor hole. Keep rotating the engine until you see a difference. The raised portion that ate your last sensor obviously will be less distance in. Half of the gear is raised and half isn't. A brand new sensor will have a small rib on the face of it. Install the new sensor until that rib just barely makes contact with the RAISED portion (least distance in) of the cam gear. The rib will be removed on the first turn of the motor and will provide the correct gap to the cam gear without breaking the sensor off.

Buy a manual, they're worth every penny...
__________________
FuctIfIknow
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old February 13th, 2010, 05:28 PM   #10
Mercenary Mechanic
 
Monzsta's Avatar
 
Monzsta is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,783
Blog Entries: 1
Monzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 points
Rep Power: 132
Do NOT stick your finger in that hole while turning the engine. It'll lop it right off. I know of a guy that did that.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old February 14th, 2010, 04:50 PM   #11
Enthusiast
 
DVSGTS's Avatar
 
DVSGTS is offline
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: AZ
Posts: 195
DVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 pointsDVSGTS made Varsity with 790 points
Rep Power: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monzsta View Post
Do NOT stick your finger in that hole while turning the engine. It'll lop it right off. I know of a guy that did that.
You're right, maybe I should have said "measure, rotate, then measure again". That would suck to pinch the end of your finger off.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old February 14th, 2010, 06:45 PM   #12
Suspended
 
a66cobra1 is offline
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Italia
Posts: 11,943
a66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 pointsa66cobra1  with -100000 points
Rep Power: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by mxracer266 View Post
Can anyone help me out? Had cam position sensor go out on me and I'm looking for a location on a '97 GTS. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Are you reading my mind? My Cayenne Turbo's Cam position sensor went out the other day and I'm "going in".
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old February 16th, 2010, 12:42 PM   #13
Enthusiast
 
Dom426h is offline
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: DE
Posts: 116
Dom426h is well liked with 170 pointsDom426h is well liked with 170 points
Rep Power: 15
Sticking your finger in the hole is much easier and less time consuming than trying to stick something in there to measure the distance. IMO

Stick your finger in the hole lightly touching the side of the gear. have a buddy slowly turn the crank with a breakerbar (take most of the sparkplugs out to make it easier to turn) . Eventually the side of the gear will raise up, or go down. (half of the gear is lower than the other half). Once you are sure the raised section is over the hole, stick the sensor in untill it contacts, then just back her out a hair before tightening.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old February 17th, 2010, 09:33 AM   #14
Mercenary Mechanic
 
Monzsta's Avatar
 
Monzsta is offline
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NC
Posts: 4,783
Blog Entries: 1
Monzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 pointsMonzsta is not afraid of bears with 17456 points
Rep Power: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dom426h View Post
Sticking your finger in the hole is much easier and less time consuming than trying to stick something in there to measure the distance. IMO

Stick your finger in the hole lightly touching the side of the gear. have a buddy slowly turn the crank with a breakerbar (take most of the sparkplugs out to make it easier to turn) . Eventually the side of the gear will lop your finger off. (half of the gear is lower than the other half). Once you are sure the raised section is over the hole, stick the sensor in untill it contacts, then just back her out a hair before tightening.
Fixed.

The rib on the gear is sharp and at a right angle, designed specifically for personal injury. If you do it this way, be very careful. The new sensor should have a paper dot glued on the end of it. That sets the air gap. just make sure it butts against the meat cleaver rib and you're good to go.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old March 1st, 2010, 06:18 PM   #15
n00b
 
vipered is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
vipered is unremarkable with 10 points
Rep Power: 0
Alright, got to replacing mine again after Napa was able to get one here. Car idles rough. Rev it up and it backfires through the intake. Wideband is pegged at 18. Nothing has been done to the car since I replaced the cam sensor that was RTV'ed together as preventative maintainince. Bad new cam sensor? I really hate this car now.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old March 1st, 2010, 07:30 PM   #16
Enthusiast
 
SR 27's Avatar
 
SR 27 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Leftcoast
Posts: 163
SR 27 is definately a better person than you are with 370 pointsSR 27 is definately a better person than you are with 370 pointsSR 27 is definately a better person than you are with 370 pointsSR 27 is definately a better person than you are with 370 points
Rep Power: 15
Chrysler sells what we call a "dot". It's a paper circle, the diameter of the cam sensor, with adhesive on one side. Turn the engine by hand until you find a high spot on the cam gear, stick the dot on the end of the cam sensor and slide it into the cover. Bottom out the sensor against the cam gear and tighten. When you crank the engine it knocks the dot off, the distance is set and the car fires up. The only bitch is that the paper dot stays in the engine. VIPERED you might do a good visual on the wiring. I've seen cam sensor faults due to chaffed wires from rubbing on pulleys.

Last edited by SR 27; March 2nd, 2010 at 12:24 AM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old March 2nd, 2010, 01:11 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
1TONY1's Avatar
 
1TONY1 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dalton, Ga.
Posts: 5,026
1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points
Rep Power: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by SR 27 View Post
Chrysler sells what we call a "dot". It's a paper circle, the diameter of the cam sensor, with adhesive on one side. Turn the engine by hand until you find a high spot on the cam gear, stick the dot on the end of the cam sensor and slide it into the cover. Bottom out the sensor against the cam gear and tighten. When you crank the engine it knocks the dot off, the distance is set and the car fires up. The only bitch is that the paper dot stays in the engine. VIPERED you might do a good visual on the wiring. I've seen cam sensor faults due to chaffed wires from rubbing on pulleys.
The Viper sensor has a small plastic rib on it new. Are you also using the dot with sensors that have a rib ?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old March 2nd, 2010, 01:14 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
1TONY1's Avatar
 
1TONY1 is offline
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Dalton, Ga.
Posts: 5,026
1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points1TONY1 is not afraid of bears with 9112 points
Rep Power: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by vipered View Post
Alright, got to replacing mine again after Napa was able to get one here. Car idles rough. Rev it up and it backfires through the intake. Wideband is pegged at 18. Nothing has been done to the car since I replaced the cam sensor that was RTV'ed together as preventative maintainince. Bad new cam sensor? I really hate this car now.
You hate the car ... because why ?
What was wrong in the beginning that caused you to (improperly) put a new sensor in ?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old March 2nd, 2010, 03:24 PM   #19
Enthusiast
 
SR 27's Avatar
 
SR 27 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Leftcoast
Posts: 163
SR 27 is definately a better person than you are with 370 pointsSR 27 is definately a better person than you are with 370 pointsSR 27 is definately a better person than you are with 370 pointsSR 27 is definately a better person than you are with 370 points
Rep Power: 15
Just put the sensor in with no dot is the correct way. The little rib does the work of the dot. Don't know what the f I was thinking.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old March 2nd, 2010, 09:23 PM   #20
n00b
 
vipered is offline
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 25
vipered is unremarkable with 10 points
Rep Power: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1TONY1 View Post
You hate the car ... because why ?
What was wrong in the beginning that caused you to (improperly) put a new sensor in ?
Replaced leaky waterpump. Previous owner must have damaged the origional sensor as it was held together by RTV and noticed it while the pump was out. Purchased a new one and ate it up...no problem, you live and learn and I bought another one and set the depth now that I new I had to. Seems like it has been one thing after another lately.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Postbit Selector

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wideband 02 sensor location ViperBing Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 4 May 28th, 2004 12:28 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 PM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
ViperAlley.com is in no way affiliated with Daimler Chrysler. Dodge, Viper, RT/10, the Viper logo and likeness are registered trademarks of Daimler Chrysler.
The contents of this site are owned by ViperAlley.Com and may not be used or reproduced without the express written permission of the Administrator.