Skip shift question? - Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper
 
Go Back   Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II
» Live Feed « · War Room · Graffiti Wall · Arcade · Viper Blogs ·  

Viper Discussions - Gen I & II Discussions of Viper-related subjects covering Gen-I and Gen-II models.

Skip shift question?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Skip shift question?
Old July 25th, 2006, 06:06 PM   #1
 
handyman is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 139
handyman is a B-Teamer with 90 points
Rep Power: 0
Skip shift question?

OK... I've been reading about this skip shift (I think thats what it's called)feature.

Could someone please tell me what exactly it prevents me from doing. And why it prevents me from doing it...whats the point???

I'm waiting for the delivery of my new 99 GTS and have to decide wether to deactivate it or not.

Thanks for your help

handy
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old July 25th, 2006, 06:11 PM   #2
Hooray for me, & fuck you
 
ryan0's Avatar
 
ryan0 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 7,863
ryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 pointsryan0 is not afraid of bears with 9310 points
Rep Power: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by handyman
Could someone please tell me what exactly it prevents me from doing. And why it prevents me from doing it...whats the point??:
im going to assume its like the vette.. so if so, it makes you shift from 1st to 4th if the rpms are below a certain point.. made to help you save gas.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old July 25th, 2006, 08:28 PM   #3
n00b
 
Axtellboy is offline
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Axtellboy is unremarkable with 20 points
Rep Power: 0
The skip shift forces a shift from 1st to 4th, but in "real world" driving, it almost never comes into play (in 2500 miles of driving my 1998 GTS, it's never forced a shift). Once your RPMs go over a certain (very low) threshold in first, it becomes non-operative and allows a normal shift into 2nd. It can be permanently disabled (see prior posts for details), but given how narrow its operating range is, I don't think it's worth the bother (other than for "principle of the matter" purposes).
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old July 25th, 2006, 10:50 PM   #4
Enthusiast
 
OVRBITE is offline
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: KC
Posts: 42
OVRBITE is unremarkable with 20 points
Rep Power: 0
The feature can be a minor nuisance in parking lots. Or if your wife/GF drives the car and is almost too light on the gas.

Kurt
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old July 26th, 2006, 10:40 AM   #5
 
Anaconda is offline
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,598
Anaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 pointsAnaconda is not afraid of bears with 3850 points
Rep Power: 0
I unplugged the harness, used some electrical tape, and a resistor I had laying around, and permanently disabled mine for free. I forget what Ohm rating the resistor is, but do a search.

I did mine when I had the car up to change my oil. It took an extra like 2 minutes.

It also can be annoying in nasty traffic.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old July 27th, 2006, 09:57 AM   #6
 
handyman is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 139
handyman is a B-Teamer with 90 points
Rep Power: 0
Thanks guys... When I get the car inspected up here I'll ask the guy to disconnect it. I can't see it being of any benefit at all.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old July 27th, 2006, 10:06 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Silver Snake is offline
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 322
Silver Snake is well liked with 220 pointsSilver Snake is well liked with 220 pointsSilver Snake is well liked with 220 points
Rep Power: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anaconda
I unplugged the harness, used some electrical tape, and a resistor I had laying around, and permanently disabled mine for free. I forget what Ohm rating the resistor is, but do a search.

I did mine when I had the car up to change my oil. It took an extra like 2 minutes.

It also can be annoying in nasty traffic.
2.2k ohms
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old July 27th, 2006, 10:13 AM   #8
RIP - Gone But Not Forgotten
 
SoCal Rebell's Avatar
 
SoCal Rebell is offline
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Rebell's dog house
Posts: 26,061
SoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 pointsSoCal Rebell is not afraid of bears with 102301 points
Rep Power: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silver Snake
2.2k ohms
Just rev the shit out of 1st gear, I never had a problem



100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Left (legacy) postbit Use Vertical (Legacy) Postbit

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
skip shift disable Neil - UK Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 7 February 6th, 2005 08:47 PM
Disable 1 -> 4 skip shift thing term Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 6 April 3rd, 2004 08:00 PM
Another skip shift question... Biggest Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 16 November 23rd, 2003 01:51 PM
Anyone want a Viper 1-4 skip shift??? bigr1 Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 12 October 31st, 2003 12:12 PM
Skip Shift Delete kits ON SALE! APEX Motorsports The Track 5 May 20th, 2003 02:03 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
ViperAlley.com is in no way affiliated with Daimler Chrysler. Dodge, Viper, RT/10, the Viper logo and likeness are registered trademarks of Daimler Chrysler.
The contents of this site are owned by ViperAlley.Com and may not be used or reproduced without the express written permission of the Administrator.