Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner

No Fire after my fire...

2K views 18 replies 6 participants last post by  Chuck 98 RT10 
#1 ·
Long story long, after my small underhood fire, I have everything patched up, repaired, replaced and now the engine won't fire. Yes Capt Obvious...I know...but here me out (I'm not a newbie here). Everything "keys-on" just fine. Fuel pump and associated bells and whistles, alarm, chimes, etcetera. No CELS...cranks but has no spark or fuel injector action (plugs are dry). Reset alarm system, did the battery post thingy, checked 5v to crank position sensor (CPS) since that took a beating in the fire (5v signal is fine)..data streamed ODB-II on live and I have no RPM signal. Possibly a crank position sensor if no RPM signal. Again no CELs for anything. Ran fine before fire so before I drop a load on a CPS (or any other sensor no longer in freaking stock....) thought I'd drop a post here. Don't think cam position sensor is in play since that was protected from the fire...but I'm about out of ideas. DRB-III live data would be nice but not exactly something we all have laying around.

#2 ·
The crank has to make 2 revs and the cam 1 rev to synch the injectors and coils to fire. IIRC, the cam sensor wires come off the harness that clips under the shock tower cross brace. I'm fairly certain the crank sensor wires come off a pigtail from the loom that feeds the oil pressure sensors. You'll need to look at the service manual to see where that loom runs - but I think it's from behind the alternator - so higher up on the motor and most likely to have been fire affected.

#3 ·