Alternator Issue - Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper
 
Go Back   Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II
» Live Feed « · War Room · Graffiti Wall · Arcade · Viper Blogs ·  

Viper Discussions - Gen I & II Discussions of Viper-related subjects covering Gen-I and Gen-II models.

Alternator Issue

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Alternator Issue
Old August 15th, 2019, 03:51 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
ReboundViper is offline
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 290
ReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 points
Rep Power: 7
Alternator Issue

So I bought dave's TT 02 GTS. Freshly built 510 from heffner. Thus far haven't really been able to enjoy the car. As soon as I got it home when you got WOT it would back fire and shut off. Sometimes take 5-10 minutes before it would start. The fuel pump wouldn't even prime when key on. I have been tracking down this issue for awhile now.

Then yesterday after changing the cam/crank sensors I took it out for a drive and the car stopped charging. Barely made it home. Ordered a brand new alternator, 280$ bucks. Slapped that bad boy in. Started the car. NOTHING. It was at 12.2 and slowly going down before I even got out of the driveway. Put a multi meter on the Alternator itself to test it and it was indeed not putting out shit. So I know its not the Alt since its a brand new one. I read on the forums it could be a BTS? I am not sure where that is or how to even test that.

If you guys have any ideas I would appreciate it. I really would like to jsut be able to enjoy this car but it seems to have gremlins.
__________________
Coming March 2017: Roe+Nitrous=???/???
OLD Setup: Roe S/C 6.5# 555/636-- [email protected] 1.8 60' --Roe with 12# pulley+Meth 665/712
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old August 15th, 2019, 04:46 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
ReboundViper is offline
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 290
ReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 points
Rep Power: 7
I also want to point out that this car has an older AEM on it.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old August 15th, 2019, 08:32 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
99RT10&GTS's Avatar
 
99RT10&GTS is offline
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 18,005
99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points99RT10&GTS is not afraid of bears with 104106 points
Rep Power: 720
On the OEM PCM, the alt regulator is in the PCM. I am guessing it is the same for the AEM. That porting of the AEM might be going bad. You can add a old school Chrysler regulator and re-wire the input to it to by-pass the AEM.

Or get a second AEM and get the tune transferred. Basically having a backup PCM with the tuned saved. I have an AEM V1 I will sell for $1000 shipped.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old August 15th, 2019, 08:51 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
ReboundViper is offline
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 290
ReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 points
Rep Power: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99RT10>S View Post
On the OEM PCM, the alt regulator is in the PCM. I am guessing it is the same for the AEM. That porting of the AEM might be going bad. You can add a old school Chrysler regulator and re-wire the input to it to by-pass the AEM.

Or get a second AEM and get the tune transferred. Basically having a backup PCM with the tuned saved. I have an AEM V1 I will sell for $1000 shipped.
Mike, I will send you a PM about that AEM v1, at this point i think there is also a ground messed up inside the AEM (Jason Heffner suggested that) which is cause it to cut out when I start stomping on it.

Its been really frustrating man. One thing after another. My 98 has an Infinity and so far 0 issues.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old August 15th, 2019, 09:14 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
ReboundViper is offline
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 290
ReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 pointsReboundViper is definately a better person than you are with 440 points
Rep Power: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99RT10>S View Post
On the OEM PCM, the alt regulator is in the PCM. I am guessing it is the same for the AEM. That porting of the AEM might be going bad. You can add a old school Chrysler regulator and re-wire the input to it to by-pass the AEM.

Or get a second AEM and get the tune transferred. Basically having a backup PCM with the tuned saved. I have an AEM V1 I will sell for $1000 shipped.
Oh, not to mentino I can't smog the 02 TT either. The smog stations can't read anything when plugged into the OBD2. And When i tried to plug in to data log it made my computer shut down.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Left (legacy) postbit Use Vertical (Legacy) Postbit

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 PM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
ViperAlley.com is in no way affiliated with Daimler Chrysler. Dodge, Viper, RT/10, the Viper logo and likeness are registered trademarks of Daimler Chrysler.
The contents of this site are owned by ViperAlley.Com and may not be used or reproduced without the express written permission of the Administrator.