Dodge SRT Viper Forums : ViperAlley banner

Any Ideas on how to best adjust Anti-Squat on a gen 2?

2K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  Jack B 
#1 ·
Looking for some ideas on how to best increase anti-squat on a 2001 for drag racing?

#3 ·
An adjustable rear shock would be your best bet...preferrably with adjustability on the compression AND rebound settings. Then, of course, test, test, test.

Might want give a call to the adjustable shock guys like Penske, Moton, KW etc...

#4 ·
Thanks - I may try and call the guys at Penske...They just rebuilt some shocks for our T/D.
I have never done much research into the factory anti squat numbers on the Viper short of Googling...I am no expert on this stuff but I know they often quote percentages like 60-120% . I was wondering if anyone had ever took measurements and ran the numbers to see what the factory delivered squat % is on a stock application or if it is even something that can be calculated on an independent rear easily?

#5 · (Edited)
"anti-squat" is more properly described as the projected intersection of the rear wishbone pivot and tire contact patch lines relative to the CG height and it's location within the wheelbase of the vehicle. It is a function of suspension geometry, not shock valving. You will not adjust it without a cutting torch and welding rods.

Shock valving will control the rate of weight transfer to an axle group or wheel position. Adding more "bump" or compression damping at the rear will slow the loading on the tires. Front "rebound" also has an influence on rear weight transfer, just not as much as rear bump.

Reactions: sundiego
#6 ·
Yes, the theoretical "instant center" is fixed in the viper configuration. Shock valving is the only real means of controlling loading/unloading conditions at launch... Well, that and judicious use of the "go" pedal.

#7 ·