iPod Integration - Gen 2 - Stock Alpine Head Unit - Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper
 
Go Back   Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Garage » Do It Yourself Tips and Tricks
» Live Feed « · War Room · Graffiti Wall · Arcade · Viper Blogs ·  

Do It Yourself Tips and Tricks For the DIY crowd.

iPod Integration - Gen 2 - Stock Alpine Head Unit

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

iPod Integration - Gen 2 - Stock Alpine Head Unit
Old September 2nd, 2013, 08:01 PM   #1
Enthusiast
 
Luisv is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 69
Luisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 points
Rep Power: 0
iPod Integration - Gen 2 - Stock Alpine Head Unit

So I've had the GTS for about 8 or 9 months at the time I did this. I've loved every minute. I've even put up with only having a CD player in there. I even burned a few CD's and deal with swapping them for drives... However...let's face it, it's 2013... I need an iPod connection!

I've done some searches here but for some reason most say that it could not be done. There is no aux input and no way to wire one in. FM modulators/transmitters are no good. It seemed like the onyl choice was a new head unit. I was not satisfied with that.

Did a bit of digging again and found a post about a hard wired FM Modulator for iPods. I figured I would try it.

What I got was a solution from iSimple. It is the IS77 which is a wired FM Modulator with an IPod connector and charging capability. By a "wired" FM Modulator it means that the device is hard wired into the antenna input of the radio. It basically gives you the best signal you can get. No need for an AUX port. Since the Alpine head unit uses a "standard" banana plug antenna, it is an easy install.

Here is what I did.

You have to get to the radio so the center bezel comes out. It snaps out (a number of write ups on this all over the place) easily. Then once you have that out, two screws get the radio out.







Once it is out three connectors come out. One is the antenna, one is the output and one is power cables. The main one you will need is the Antenna.



The device connects easily. Basically you need power to the unit and you connect the antenna through the device. In the case of the IS77 you have a couple of other connections to make but they are all setup for plug in connections. You have a power switch, the power connector to supply power to charge the iPod. Of course you also have the iPod connector itself.

The power is easy, if you want that. You can simply pull power for the cigarette lighter plug. However, I used accessory power or switched power. This way I never have a concern with the iPod draining the power if the cars remains undriven for a week or more. The power came from an "add-a-circuit" that is in fuse spot 6. I used it for the radar detector install I did. All my connections are always soldered and covered in heat shrink.





The wire was run from behind the drivers knee pad and up into the radio area. Very simple. Ground was form the cigarette lighter connector. Easiest location.





In the end I kept the stock head unit, did not mar the interior and got tunes in the process! All requirements I had!
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old September 2nd, 2013, 08:04 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Luisv is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 69
Luisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 points
Rep Power: 0
Once the power is wired the rest is academic. You simply tidy up the wires and drop the unit in under the radio.

This is the unit used.



The unit tucked in under the radio bracket. If I had designed it, I would not have gotten a better fit! I place some high adhesion doubled faced tape on the device and tucked it in there. No rattles will ever be heard.



I then ran the wire back under the center console and out. When not used I just drop in behind the passenger seat.



The radio back in and tuned to 87.9 FM playing Steppenwolf's remixed "Magic Carpet Ride"!



Sound is excellent. The device works by cutting out the incoming FM signal and replacing it with the signal coming from the device. Essentially eliminating any kind of interference. The output is clean and crisp, no signal noise at all. Frankly, sounds as good as my 2010 Charger with the integrated iPod factory radio. The only catch is that you must use the iPod to control the playing music. However, it is a small price to pay for never having to swap CD's and looking for songs. The other benefit is that it charges the device as well so no need to have a second charger. It will charge all iPod/iPhone devices except the iPod Shuffle version.

In the end I kept the stock head unit, did not mar the interior and got tunes in the process! All requirements I had!
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old September 2nd, 2013, 11:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
jasontiff's Avatar
 
jasontiff is offline
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 5,008
jasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 pointsjasontiff is not afraid of bears with 35097 points
Rep Power: 248
Send a message via AIM to jasontiff Send a message via MSN to jasontiff
Great write-up and find. I would have done this in my previous cars in a heartbeat.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 

Old September 3rd, 2013, 09:31 PM   #4
Enthusiast
 
Jeebs's Avatar
 
Jeebs is offline
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 89
Jeebs is well liked with 212 pointsJeebs is well liked with 212 pointsJeebs is well liked with 212 points
Rep Power: 0
Thanks for the great write up. I wish i would have know about this before i replaced my head unit.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old September 3rd, 2013, 09:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
CottonMouth's Avatar
 
CottonMouth is offline
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,339
CottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 pointsCottonMouth is not afraid of bears with 8719 points
Rep Power: 68
Excellent! I was dreading having to replace the head unit just to hook up my MP3 player. You da man!
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old October 11th, 2013, 12:02 PM   #6
Enthusiast
 
Odynn is offline
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 94
Odynn is definately JV with 278 pointsOdynn is definately JV with 278 pointsOdynn is definately JV with 278 points
Rep Power: 0
Very interesting - I'm gonna have to look to see if they have one with the new iPhone plug (not 30-pin) Thanks for doing the write up
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old April 6th, 2014, 10:17 AM   #7
Enthusiast
 
D rail's Avatar
 
D rail is offline
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Vermont
Posts: 94
D rail is definately JV with 311 pointsD rail is definately JV with 311 pointsD rail is definately JV with 311 pointsD rail is definately JV with 311 points
Rep Power: 0
I know this is an old thread but just wanted to say thanks for the write up op! Just installed and wired this up and it works amazing! I have used the transmitters in the past on other vehicles and they suck pretty bad this thing is as clear as can be and charges the ipod too which is a solid plus all while not cluttering up the dash.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old April 8th, 2014, 08:01 AM   #8
Enthusiast
 
Luisv is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 69
Luisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 points
Rep Power: 0
Awesome... glad it worked out as well.

Still using mine all the time. Works great!
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old April 9th, 2014, 11:10 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
ZZ SRT's Avatar
 
ZZ SRT is offline
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,212
ZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 pointsZZ SRT is not afraid of bears with 7031 points
Rep Power: 53
Is the fuse spot 6 a "key-on" circuit then? Do you have a diagram of the fuse block that showed which are key-on and which are "all the time" power?

I'm going to add this but am also adding a wideband/boost gauge so it'd be nice to know I can add a circuit!
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old April 13th, 2014, 09:32 AM   #10
Enthusiast
 
Luisv is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 69
Luisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 pointsLuisv is definately a better person than you are with 374 points
Rep Power: 0
Fuse 6 is definitely accessory (key-in/on) power. I used a diagram from the service manual to confirm. If you don't have a diagram, you can either figure it out by what each fuse covers (from inside the cover) or test the circuits for voltage without the key in the ignition. Anything without voltage you then double check for voltage with the key on. That's how I confirmed fuse 6 as well. Also make certain that adding the device won't blow the fuse in place with the added amperage draw and that the location is not a "critical" device for the car.

If you still need the call out for the fuses.... I'll post it here... Just let me know.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Garage » Do It Yourself Tips and Tricks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Left (legacy) postbit Use Vertical (Legacy) Postbit

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Viper Classified: Gen II Alpine stock CD player dun4791 Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 0 August 27th, 2009 04:10 PM
IPOD Integrated Cable for RB-1 Unit??? 05CopperHD Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 0 October 1st, 2008 12:12 PM
Looking to Buy RB1 Head Unit & iPod Adaptor for '08 shark Viper Discussions - Gen III & IV SRT 1 May 15th, 2008 02:32 PM
After market Head Unit for Gen I AK Dave Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 4 June 7th, 2006 03:29 PM
how thick is stock head gasket GEN II?? lawnman Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 4 February 15th, 2005 01:59 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10 AM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
ViperAlley.com is in no way affiliated with Daimler Chrysler. Dodge, Viper, RT/10, the Viper logo and likeness are registered trademarks of Daimler Chrysler.
The contents of this site are owned by ViperAlley.Com and may not be used or reproduced without the express written permission of the Administrator.