Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper - View Single Post - For those selling Vipers
View Single Post

Old July 22nd, 2019, 11:29 PM   #6
ManOfStealth
Enthusiast

ManOfStealth is well liked with 210 pointsManOfStealth is well liked with 210 pointsManOfStealth is well liked with 210 points
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunchbox View Post
Honestly your entire post looks like you're trying to make buyers cater to you and 99% of the time individuals selling these cars DON'T give two shits about catering to you. They know what they have plain and simple and if you want it you're going to go see it in person.

Most of the people that take pictures tucked away in their garage are testing waters and don't really care if it actually sells, unless someone throws the right amount of money at them or begs them for more info or to see it in person. This has been my experience over the years buying and selling cars when i used to be a mechanic for a long while and being an enthusiast myself.

If you want the car, you need to seek it out. Yes its helpful to have pictures so you know if you're wasting time looking at a beater, but generally most vipers are well kept for the most part and you can tell based on just a few small pictures of its a total waste of time or not and also via the description and mileage and knowing what commonly wears out on them and at what mileage.

People arent going to come to you showing their car off begging you to buy it, its always been the other way around and always will be. You want the goods, you need to put in the work to find one and try to pry it from their hands for the right price.

Common things to look for that ive noticed:

Motor mounts (check if shifter is moving around excessively when accelerating or on/off throttle moderately)
Cooling system (check for leaks and temp gauge staying pegging off into the 220-230+ mark all the time even when its cool out)