PLX DM-6 or other multigauges - Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper
 
Go Back   Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II
» Live Feed « · War Room · Graffiti Wall · Chat · Arcade · Viper Blogs ·  

Viper Discussions - Gen I & II Discussions of Viper-related subjects covering Gen-I and Gen-II models.

PLX DM-6 or other multigauges

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

PLX DM-6 or other multigauges
Old December 15th, 2012, 10:55 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
AndyMac's Avatar
 
AndyMac is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saint John, N.B., Canada
Posts: 834
AndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 points
Rep Power: 22
PLX DM-6 or other multigauges

So, I was thinking this morning that I would like to have a single gauge that I could scroll through multiple sensors. (oil temp, IAT, trans temp, fuel pressure, etc) I went looking and found the PLX DM-6 gauge.

PLX DM-6 | Auto Meter Car Gauge

Reads up to 16 sensors, has peak and hold functions, etc, etc. I really think it and think it would look nice where the idiot light cluster is on my gen 1. (between the tach and speedo)

Anyone have any experience with these or have any other options?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old December 15th, 2012, 11:00 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
dave6666's Avatar
 
dave6666 is online now
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,613
dave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 points
Rep Power: 167
How does it wire in to all of these sensors?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 11:18 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
AndyMac's Avatar
 
AndyMac is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saint John, N.B., Canada
Posts: 834
AndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 points
Rep Power: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
How does it wire in to all of these sensors?
I think you need to buy different sensor modules and daisy chain them together. 1 sensor module is only for temp type sensors, and has 4 inputs maybe? and then you get a sensor module for pressure type sensors and connect the two modules together and then to the gauge, etc. Could get costly, but it's a system you could slowly add to, and given the cost of individual gauges and lack of real estate, seems like a viable solution.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 11:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
dave6666's Avatar
 
dave6666 is online now
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,613
dave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 points
Rep Power: 167
So you use the stock sensor, wire it to a sensor module, which connects to the gauge? A lot of wiring, but I guess that would work better than a laptop from the OBDII port. At least from a visibility standpoint i.e. keeping your eye on the road.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 11:30 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
AndyMac's Avatar
 
AndyMac is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saint John, N.B., Canada
Posts: 834
AndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 points
Rep Power: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
So you use the stock sensor, wire it to a sensor module, which connects to the gauge? A lot of wiring, but I guess that would work better than a laptop from the OBDII port. At least from a visibility standpoint i.e. keeping your eye on the road.
Need to use their sensors unfortunately.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 11:33 AM   #6
Finger Licken Good
 
Mister Bone's Avatar
 
Mister Bone is offline
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 18,149
Mister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 pointsMister Bone is not afraid of bears with 15598 points
Rep Power: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
So you use the stock sensor, wire it to a sensor module, which connects to the gauge? A lot of wiring, but I guess that would work better than a laptop from the OBDII port. At least from a visibility standpoint i.e. keeping your eye on the road.
Plenty of OBDII options, but you are limited to what the ECU sees. Not every parameter you would like to monitor is read by the ECU.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 11:34 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
dave6666's Avatar
 
dave6666 is online now
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,613
dave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 points
Rep Power: 167
So plumbing AND wiring... What size hole saw you gonna use on the firewall? lol
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 11:49 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Final GTS's Avatar
 
Final GTS is offline
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,096
Final GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 points
Rep Power: 38
Or you could run a digital dash that is capable of reading and logging factory sensors @ 200-1000Hz internally, and is software downloadable via Ethernet.

Expensive, but substantial benefits.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 01:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
AndyMac's Avatar
 
AndyMac is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saint John, N.B., Canada
Posts: 834
AndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 points
Rep Power: 22
You mean something like this?

Racepak Data Systems - Professional Motorsports Data Acquisition Systems

They have an interface for the Megasquirt now, so I could get 2 birds stoned at once.

Dave, I'll use the same hole saw that I used for the VEC3 wiring, but on the drivers side.. I like symmetry.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 01:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
dave6666's Avatar
 
dave6666 is online now
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,613
dave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22858 points
Rep Power: 167
Roc will be along any minute now, to investigate the use of the word stoned in this thread.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 02:14 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
AndyMac's Avatar
 
AndyMac is offline
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Saint John, N.B., Canada
Posts: 834
AndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 pointsAndyMac is not afraid of bears with 2521 points
Rep Power: 22
So, you can daisy chain up to 16 sensor modules. Some modules like AFR, EGT, IAT and Boost/Vac are single sensor only, where as others like fluid pressure and fluid temperature modules have 2 inputs each. You could easily get into the 500-700 dollar range for a good assortment of sensors, but it's in such a nice package.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 03:55 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Drlee50's Avatar
 
Drlee50 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago burbs
Posts: 803
Drlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 points
Rep Power: 19
I have the plx on my car in the pod on the center of the steering wheel column. I have the one that connects to the old port so u can monitor all the factory stuff, clear codes etc. I also have a wide band module connected to it. Turns out, the plx does not read the dodge Viper obd 2 data thru the port. I called tech support and they said sorry Charlie. Some models of cars have the ground wire at pin 8, some pin 9... And whatever the reason, it does not work on gen two dodge. I plugged the unit into my infinity qx56 and it read all the data just fine. I really wanted the unit for the digital display and the ability to add additional sensors in the future. It's a nice unit overall but I wished the obd function worked. I ordered a new aem infinity 10, so the obd shot will be a non issue with the gauge soon anyway. But having a live time wide band reading for tuning and racing is always a nice thing to have with a power adder.
__________________
2002 GTS (DBB track car)
UGR TT (76mm turbos) custom A/W IC
Built motor, ported heads, Billet LSM cam , Infinity 10 ECU
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 04:25 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Final GTS's Avatar
 
Final GTS is offline
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,096
Final GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 points
Rep Power: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyMac View Post
You mean something like this?

Racepak Data Systems - Professional Motorsports Data Acquisition Systems

They have an interface for the Megasquirt now, so I could get 2 birds stoned at once.

Dave, I'll use the same hole saw that I used for the VEC3 wiring, but on the drivers side.. I like symmetry.

Andy- Similar... but nope.

That is a dash system that daisey-chains their own sensors on a CAN network. I am referring to a system such as the Pi Omega, or Motec CDL/ADL where OEM sensors can be connected directly to the dash, and all data can be displayed/logged. These systems can read factory sensors, and support additional sensors of pretty much any type that you would like to add. You can intercept OEM sensors at the PCM, or anywhere convenient.

After logging internally {128mb-1GB depending on models} you can download the data via Ethernet, and use a program such as Pi Toolbox to analyze the information. This is DAYS worth of logging depending on sample counts and rates.

This is what we generally use:

The shown display is a Pi Omega, and what we have used near exclusively up until now. We are currently waiting on final information and a production version of a new generation full color version of this display, as we are now an authorized distributor for Cosworth Electronics in the USA- which previously was not possible in this country.

The above single display on page 1 of 4 alone will display Lambda left and Right, RPM, MAP, Speed, Gear Position, Fuel Pressure, Calibration and Traction Control setting. On later menus, you can view Intake Air Temp, Engine Sync Mode, Internal Temp, Throttle Position, Exhaust Temp Left and Right... or any other conceivable sensor you may want to display- all configurable with alarms. There is also an optional Multi-LED shift module that can be attached to the top- and in some cases, they have configurable outputs, PWM, etc for controlling additional devices and systems.
__________________
Dan Lesser

Last edited by Final GTS; December 15th, 2012 at 04:47 PM.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 15th, 2012, 05:05 PM   #14
Enthusiast
 
turbo355's Avatar
 
turbo355 is offline
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 43
turbo355 is a B-Teamer with 80 points
Rep Power: 0
[QUOTE=AndyMac;1572878]You mean something like this?



They have an interface for the Megasquirt now, so I could get 2 birds stoned at once.

Dave, I'll use the same hole saw that I used for the VEC3 wiring, but on the drivers side.. I like symmetry.[/QUOTE

]I would suggest a smart phone or tablet (Android ) with Shadow dash app and bluetooth to the MS3 for your dash you can log anything the ECU sees plus with the built in accelerometers in the phones or tablets, you can also log this data and review it in the MS software, plus this only cost a few bucks, and most people have their phones on them all the time .

You can also use this as a heads up display.


If you did want a dash i have setup the AIM MXL strada dash to the MS3, and it works fine , and has independent 0-5v channels for logging also, you dont need any special adapters to make it work, it hooks right into the MS3 CAN.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old January 28th, 2013, 07:02 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Netko's Avatar
 
Netko is offline
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: in your computer hard drive.
Posts: 1,403
Netko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 pointsNetko is not afraid of bears with 10919 points
Rep Power: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drlee50 View Post
I have the plx on my car in the pod on the center of the steering wheel column. I have the one that connects to the old port so u can monitor all the factory stuff, clear codes etc. I also have a wide band module connected to it. Turns out, the plx does not read the dodge Viper obd 2 data thru the port. I called tech support and they said sorry Charlie. Some models of cars have the ground wire at pin 8, some pin 9... And whatever the reason, it does not work on gen two dodge. I plugged the unit into my infinity qx56 and it read all the data just fine. I really wanted the unit for the digital display and the ability to add additional sensors in the future. It's a nice unit overall but I wished the obd function worked. I ordered a new aem infinity 10, so the obd shot will be a non issue with the gauge soon anyway. But having a live time wide band reading for tuning and racing is always a nice thing to have with a power adder.
I was about to pull the trigger on a PLX this evening. So glad I saw this post!

I wish it would work for the OBD purposes...
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old January 28th, 2013, 09:16 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Drlee50's Avatar
 
Drlee50 is offline
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chicago burbs
Posts: 803
Drlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 pointsDrlee50 made Varsity with 1430 points
Rep Power: 19
call em and see if they took the time to try to figure it out. I doubt it because gen 2 viper market is so small they wouldnt waste their time.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old January 28th, 2013, 09:38 PM   #17
Oh Noes
 
Mr. Hollywood's Avatar
 
Mr. Hollywood is offline
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Austin
Posts: 6,625
Mr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 pointsMr. Hollywood is not afraid of bears with 22394 points
Rep Power: 162
Can the Cosworth display connect via the ethernet port that the lap top uses or does it need to be hard wired into the Pectel ECU?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old January 29th, 2013, 12:56 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Final GTS's Avatar
 
Final GTS is offline
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,096
Final GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 pointsFinal GTS is not afraid of bears with 3994 points
Rep Power: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Hollywood View Post
Can the Cosworth display connect via the ethernet port that the lap top uses or does it need to be hard wired into the Pectel ECU?
PM'd You...
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Left (legacy) postbit Use Vertical (Legacy) Postbit

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07 AM.

ViperAlley.com is in no way affiliated with Daimler Chrysler. Dodge, Viper, RT/10, the Viper logo and likeness are registered trademarks of Daimler Chrysler.
The contents of this site are owned by ViperAlley.Com and may not be used or reproduced without the express written permission of the Administrator.