Who has installed pillar mounted gauges? - Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper
 
Go Back   Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II
» Live Feed « · War Room · Graffiti Wall · Chat · Arcade · Viper Blogs ·  

Viper Discussions - Gen I & II Discussions of Viper-related subjects covering Gen-I and Gen-II models.

Who has installed pillar mounted gauges?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

Who has installed pillar mounted gauges?
Old December 9th, 2012, 12:46 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
2002_red_gts's Avatar
 
2002_red_gts is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 754
2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points
Rep Power: 26
Who has installed pillar mounted gauges?

I'm looking to install a boost and wideband gauge and was wondering what 12v source and ground did you use under the dash? Or did you run them into the engine bay?
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

Old December 9th, 2012, 07:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
1.8t is offline
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 324
1.8t made Varsity with 797 points1.8t made Varsity with 797 points1.8t made Varsity with 797 points1.8t made Varsity with 797 points1.8t made Varsity with 797 points1.8t made Varsity with 797 points1.8t made Varsity with 797 points
Rep Power: 8
I used the window switch wiring as it is a switched 12v source.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 9th, 2012, 08:31 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
dave6666's Avatar
 
dave6666 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15,611
dave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 pointsdave6666 is not afraid of bears with 22808 points
Rep Power: 167
You can pic up 12v at the fuse panel by the knee bolster using one of the fuse panel taps from Auto Zone.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 9th, 2012, 09:30 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jack B is offline
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 842
Jack B hangs with the Hiddens with 733 pointsJack B hangs with the Hiddens with 733 pointsJack B hangs with the Hiddens with 733 pointsJack B hangs with the Hiddens with 733 pointsJack B hangs with the Hiddens with 733 pointsJack B hangs with the Hiddens with 733 pointsJack B hangs with the Hiddens with 733 points
Rep Power: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave6666 View Post
You can pic up 12v at the fuse panel by the knee bolster using one of the fuse panel taps from Auto Zone.
Make sure you tap a fuse that is switched on with the key.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 10th, 2012, 01:59 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
2002_red_gts's Avatar
 
2002_red_gts is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 754
2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points
Rep Power: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack B View Post
Make sure you tap a fuse that is switched on with the key.
Ok I need to use 2 12v sources. I'm going to use the radio under the dash but I need another one that turns in with the switch any ideas?


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 20th, 2012, 02:55 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
2002_red_gts's Avatar
 
2002_red_gts is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 754
2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points
Rep Power: 26
Finished up the install if anyone needs any help or has questions let me know Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAG Free1355993742.472470.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	163.9 KB
ID:	44449


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 20th, 2012, 06:35 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Anarchy99's Avatar
 
Anarchy99 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,117
Anarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 points
Rep Power: 30
Send a message via AIM to Anarchy99
I guess I could do mine now, I would be interested in some info on how you did it all. I also have a raptor to wire in at some point.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 20th, 2012, 08:32 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
scottyitsk's Avatar
 
scottyitsk is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Highspire, PA
Posts: 1,045
scottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 points
Rep Power: 22
you guys should def run an inline fuse up to the aftermarket gauges like me... really easy to do... but it will save you because aftermarket gauges are very touchy... and if you get a spike in voltage from wherever you run your hot wires, you will FRY the gauge... and then its no good..

having nice inline fuses that cost like 3 bucks... will save you from having to replace 200$ gauges..... happened to me countless times... then i got smart and ran the inline fuses.. never had a problem since then... but have blown a few fuses
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 20th, 2012, 08:35 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
virginiavenom's Avatar
 
virginiavenom is offline
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North of Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,842
virginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 points
Rep Power: 112
dude, your A/F is 7.4.......holy ish that's rich.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 20th, 2012, 08:40 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
virginiavenom's Avatar
 
virginiavenom is offline
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North of Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,842
virginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 points
Rep Power: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyitsk View Post
you guys should def run an inline fuse up to the aftermarket gauges like me... really easy to do... but it will save you because aftermarket gauges are very touchy... and if you get a spike in voltage from wherever you run your hot wires, you will FRY the gauge... and then its no good..

having nice inline fuses that cost like 3 bucks... will save you from having to replace 200$ gauges..... happened to me countless times... then i got smart and ran the inline fuses.. never had a problem since then... but have blown a few fuses
really? what kind of gauges? I've had over 100 different gauges in one car or another and haven't had one go bad. had a sensor go out on a fuel level gauge by autometer once, but that's it. nothing else. every kind of gauge I can think of. WBO2, EGT, pressure, temp, tach, speed, etc. several cobras, a few mustangs, 67 GTO, T-Bucket, 57 chevy. never really had a problem with them. they are typically autometer. so long as your source power wire is fused you shouldn't need another inline unless somehow you were having a wire cross/jump close to the gauge or on the gauge itself.
__________________
98 GTS RSI TT -proline 510 6766s Infinity GG.
1007RWHP / 1049 RWTQ @ 15 psi. - SOLD
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 20th, 2012, 08:43 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
scottyitsk's Avatar
 
scottyitsk is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Highspire, PA
Posts: 1,045
scottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 points
Rep Power: 22
i have had horrible luck with AEM gauges... maybe just my luck

thats usually how it happens... the gauges just shit out... ive never had a problem with the viper... but i had major problems with my 91 galant vr4... and mustang gt before..... ive somehow fried 3 gauges in my life so far... maybe there were underlying wiring issues that i didnt know about.. that could possibly do it!! haha
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 20th, 2012, 09:13 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
virginiavenom's Avatar
 
virginiavenom is offline
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: North of Dallas, TX
Posts: 2,842
virginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 pointsvirginiavenom is not afraid of bears with 15711 points
Rep Power: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottyitsk View Post
i have had horrible luck with AEM gauges... maybe just my luck

thats usually how it happens... the gauges just shit out... ive never had a problem with the viper... but i had major problems with my 91 galant vr4... and mustang gt before..... ive somehow fried 3 gauges in my life so far... maybe there were underlying wiring issues that i didnt know about.. that could possibly do it!! haha
could have had a gremlin somewhere. I've only had 2 AEM gauges. both O2s. but no problems out of either. although I wasn't much of a fan of them really.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 20th, 2012, 03:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
2002_red_gts's Avatar
 
2002_red_gts is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 754
2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points
Rep Power: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by virginiavenom View Post
dude, your A/F is 7.4.......holy ish that's rich.
Lol the car isn't running the af gauge needs to be calibrated


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 21st, 2012, 12:30 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
primedtsi's Avatar
 
primedtsi is offline
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lusby, MD
Posts: 330
primedtsi hangs with the Hiddens with 604 pointsprimedtsi hangs with the Hiddens with 604 pointsprimedtsi hangs with the Hiddens with 604 pointsprimedtsi hangs with the Hiddens with 604 pointsprimedtsi hangs with the Hiddens with 604 pointsprimedtsi hangs with the Hiddens with 604 points
Rep Power: 7
Send a message via AIM to primedtsi
Do you guys find the gauges to be "in your face" at all? Ive got 2 widebands and the pillar pod but I cant bring myself to put them in. Feel like its gonna be stuck in my face and annoying...
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 21st, 2012, 12:41 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
2002_red_gts's Avatar
 
2002_red_gts is offline
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 754
2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points2002_red_gts is not afraid of bears with 3213 points
Rep Power: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by primedtsi View Post
Do you guys find the gauges to be "in your face" at all? Ive got 2 widebands and the pillar pod but I cant bring myself to put them in. Feel like its gonna be stuck in my face and annoying...
Yes a little lets just say your not going to not see them... I figure ill get used to it


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 21st, 2012, 02:41 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
scottyitsk's Avatar
 
scottyitsk is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Highspire, PA
Posts: 1,045
scottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 points
Rep Power: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by primedtsi View Post
Do you guys find the gauges to be "in your face" at all? Ive got 2 widebands and the pillar pod but I cant bring myself to put them in. Feel like its gonna be stuck in my face and annoying...
not at all man!! i have 2 widebands in the dual pod pillar mount.. and my boost gauge in the steering column mount!

they arent in my face at all.. and im 6'6"
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 21st, 2012, 05:29 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
KenH's Avatar
 
KenH is online now
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 494
KenH hangs with the Hiddens with 710 pointsKenH hangs with the Hiddens with 710 pointsKenH hangs with the Hiddens with 710 pointsKenH hangs with the Hiddens with 710 pointsKenH hangs with the Hiddens with 710 pointsKenH hangs with the Hiddens with 710 pointsKenH hangs with the Hiddens with 710 points
Rep Power: 16
I only notice them when I am making left hand turns. Pedestrians are definitely at more risk when I turn left than when I turn right
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 21st, 2012, 05:36 PM   #18
Smart Ass Dick
 
BlackSnake99's Avatar
 
BlackSnake99 is offline
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: On the throne
Posts: 9,337
BlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 pointsBlackSnake99 is not afraid of bears with 106612 points
Rep Power: 720
Quote:
Originally Posted by primedtsi View Post
Do you guys find the gauges to be "in your face" at all? Ive got 2 widebands and the pillar pod but I cant bring myself to put them in. Feel like its gonna be stuck in my face and annoying...


I felt the same way you did. I felt like there were in my face, especially at night since the wideband is always moving. I used two Autometer CF cups and did this...




at night...


  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 21st, 2012, 05:39 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Anarchy99's Avatar
 
Anarchy99 is offline
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,117
Anarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 pointsAnarchy99 is not afraid of bears with 4165 points
Rep Power: 30
Send a message via AIM to Anarchy99
^^ looks good. Ill have to keep this in mind.
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old December 21st, 2012, 06:18 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
scottyitsk's Avatar
 
scottyitsk is offline
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Highspire, PA
Posts: 1,045
scottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 pointsscottyitsk is not afraid of bears with 2991 points
Rep Power: 22
yea i have dual widebands.. one for each bank... i can def agree with vision during left hand turns is pretty shitty... but.. i have plans for many other gauges... i like my shit to look like an organized cockpit!!! lol... but the main reason is because i get for real bad anxiety when I cant see EVERYTHING that is going on with my car at all times...
  Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper » Viper Alley » Viper Discussions - Gen I & II

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Viper Alley - Dodge Viper Forum -SRT Viper forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Postbit Selector
Switch to Left (legacy) postbit Use Vertical (Legacy) Postbit

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Dual pillar pod for GTS Anarchy99 Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 2 October 5th, 2012 06:36 PM
Who Wants an 'A Pillar' Gauge Pod Black Moon Viper Discussions - Gen III & IV SRT 7 March 9th, 2011 06:59 PM
Can a gen 3 t-pillar fit on a gen 2? BLOCKTRADER16 Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 0 July 29th, 2010 11:45 PM
TT, SC, or track cars, any of you installed gauges in factory radio location? Alternative Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 12 August 14th, 2007 08:22 PM
guage pod for pillar ? twinvipers Viper Discussions - Gen I & II 9 March 5th, 2004 10:31 PM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.

ViperAlley.com is in no way affiliated with Daimler Chrysler. Dodge, Viper, RT/10, the Viper logo and likeness are registered trademarks of Daimler Chrysler.
The contents of this site are owned by ViperAlley.Com and may not be used or reproduced without the express written permission of the Administrator.